Travel the dunes with the LEGO� Star Wars™ Ultimate Collector Series Sancrawler™

FBTB - From Bricks To Bothans

Follow us: RSS
News? Questions? Comments? Email!

Using licenced parts.

A Member of LEGO Company's staff drops in here from time to time to answer questions from LEGO fans like you.

Using licenced parts.

Postby Dalek Caan » Sun Jun 06, 2010 6:59 am

What is LEGO's stance on using licenced pieces in non-licenced sets? I was under the impression that this was a complete no-no, but whilst looking on LEGO.com I came across set 7955, the Kingdom's Wizard, I noticed that Norbert the dragon (HP) was there. I suppose Norbert is a rather bad example, but there were some other examples of this more recently.

SO is it allowed? Thanks in advance Steve.
Dalek Caan

Re: Using licenced parts.

Postby TwistedFate » Sun Jun 06, 2010 7:53 am

I'm no expert in licensing issues, but it's obvious that not every piece in a licensed set is a licensed piece, otherwise we couldn't get 2x4 black bricks anywhere because they appear in Hogwarts (to use an extreme example). I wouldn't think they would need to license something like the dragonlet. It's not uniquely identifiable as an HP entity outside of an HP set. The only reason you know it as Norbert is because you know the set it came from. I didn't know it was used in an HP set so I didn't associate it with Norbert when I got the Wizard. However, drop a minifig with a lightning bolt scar into a random scene and almost everybody will think Harry Potter immediately, so I'm sure that head is licensed.

I know you said that was a bad example, so in order to generalize my explanation a bit better: I don't think it has to licensed if it can't be explicitly identified as an element from the licensed franchise.
TwistedFate

Postby Robzula » Sun Jun 06, 2010 11:02 am