Travel the dunes with the LEGO� Star Wars™ Ultimate Collector Series Sancrawler™

FBTB - From Bricks To Bothans

Follow us: RSS
News? Questions? Comments? Email!

[SW] b-Wing Fighter

Got an awesome creation that you'd like to share with the community? We want to see it! This is also where to post your WIPs and techniques to brainstorm with other builders.

[SW] b-Wing Fighter

Postby dWhisper » Mon Dec 02, 2013 2:36 pm

Already posted this before everyone got the early present of an extra couple of days, and it was a build that I was happy enough with that I just sort of left it. I'd like to say there's some great story that went into its creation, but mostly I had an idea early on, that I wanted to use the bubble cockpit and I wanted it to be connected to a single pylon to make a lower-case B.

Initially, I set out with a few, somewhat unrealistic goals. One was to use the bubble cockpit, something I've never used in a build before. I have a few Alien Conquest sets, and always intended to use them in something, just never got around to it. I also wanted to use a color I don't typically use in building. Given that yellow is far and away my least favorite color in LEGO, and I managed to get it in there, I think I succeeded.

The last goal was a bit weird, and it's one I had to give up on... and that was to build a pylon that was no more than two studs wide. Initially, I'd intended to do this with a couple of back-to-back plates, held together by rubber bands. I'd gotten something that was the right width, but it just looked terrible. I couldn't get the thing into a consistent look between them, and hiding the rubber bands added way too much thickness to the model.